Follow Up Post

Here is a follow up post to the other one.

We moved from the other apartment. Yahuweh said that we were not supposed to stay in that one. So now we are in a smaller apartment, in the 3rd area (they don’t use street names much just areas). We used to be in the 8th area.

This apartment, yes, is smaller but closer to the shops. It’s in a nice neighborhood too, and so was the other one, it’s the same in that aspect. We are also not far away from the China Mall. I’ve not seen it yet but everyone else has (my own doing). I’ll see it soon though.

Aqaba is really nice. Once you get past the initial culture shock. I can’t say that I immediately loved it, no at first felt like -and I still do feel like-, as Abraham said “I am a stranger in a strange land”. I feel like a fish out of water here, but in case you didn’t know there is a fish that can live out of the water for a while. Then there are those flying fish…. So it is just a matter of feeling out of place.

It is quite different in some ways. In the western world, most people don’t openly stare. Here it’s a bit different. Kinda unnerving too but you get through it. It isn’t as bad as I put it out to be. As I’m not really used to the outside world, and I usually duck for cover when I see people coming, which, is what I did for years. I can’t do that anymore, with all the traveling we do. It’s just a different culture here, I’m almost getting, not the word used to it, that sounds too.. well…. used it it. Lets just say it doesn’t make me want to go hide and never come out anymore. My family knows I‘m notorious for that.

But you should see how they drive here! It’s Awesome! Makes me want to get my drivers license, but then again makes me not want to get behind the wheel. Almost every time I get in a car here I’m laughing. This may sound very immature to you all but, I even smile about it now just thinking about it. They are very civilized in their driving though. And the drivers here have got to be pretty good. To keep their cars on the road. LOL

The people here are quite friendly. I like them, they are courteous and nice, but business like as well.

Here is a view from the main street in Aqaba.

DSCF8779 signed

Across the water is Egypt, well actually the Sinai, I think. And just to tell you, no, I’m not standing in the middle of the street, I’m in a car. If I was I don’t think I would be in the apartment at the moment. LOL.

They don’t always stop for pedestrians and at times they will speed up to get you moving.

This post is late but pretty much up to date.

One thought on “Follow Up Post

  1. Really it depends on the driver, some are laid back and allow people to cross first. While others speed up trying to beat you to the crossing, much like people speed up to beat the red light or an oncoming train. It’s mostly the taxis you have to watch, as they don’t like to stop and wait, as they’ve got somebody breathing down their back to get them to their destination quick.

Leave a Reply

