Would He approve?

A friend sent out an email this morning asking people to type a guest post for their blog. I was in the process when I got side tracked on a different topic.

What junk we put in our mind that we see as harmless, until someone who we know won’t see it that way reads watches or sees it.

Think about it, how many books or movies do we read or watch, would we want Yahushua sitting there watching or reading the same movie or book as you? I know for a fact that I would be embarrassed if He read some of the books I do even if they are innocent to us. Think about it, would you want Yahushua sitting beside you reading the chronicles of Narnia while you comment on the difference of white and black magic? Or while you’re watching Cinderella and saying that its all right because it shows that love conquers all?

Magic is magic, betrayal is betrayal, unclean thoughts and actions are just that. Can you imagine watching “twilight zone” and Yahushua coming in and sat down next to you, while you watch it after going to Church or reading the Bible?

I can’t say that I’m not guilty of this because I am. I am guilty of all these things. I may not have watched or read the things that I’ve mentioned but I’ve read or watched things similar or other things that I would not want Yahushua to read or watch with me.

But why do we then read or watch these things if we are supposed to be blameless and pure? I know we can never be perfect but should we not strive to be so?

Therefore reading things that go against what Yahweh considers as good and right such as

Gal 5:19  And the works of the flesh are well-known, which are these: adultery, whoring, uncleanness, indecency,
Gal 5:20  idolatry, drug sorcery, hatred, quarrels, jealousies, fits of rage, selfish ambitions, dissensions, factions,
Gal 5:21  envy, murders, drunkenness, wild parties, and the like – of which I forewarn you, even as I also said before, that those who practice such as these shall not inherit the reign of Elohim

Filling our mind with such things, and messing up our emotions with books and movies that are best left alone until much later in life, that cannot be what Father wants us to do.

So maybe next time we go to watch a movie or pick up a book as you’re watching or reading or even before that, ask yourself; if Yahushua walked in right now and said “what’s up? what are you reading or whatcha watching?” then proceeded to pick up the book or sit down to watch the movie. Would He say “not bad” or would he be disgusted by what you’re filling your head and heart with?

Think on that, we all need to think on it.

One thought on “Would He approve?

  1. I was thumbing through some junk mail last week and as I was looking I contemplated how much advertising and marketing is done to induce us to buy the latest gadgets, movies, video games, toys etc etc simply for the sake of entertainment. It got me thinking how much our society is geared towards entertatinment. How much better use of our time could be made if we didn’t waste it in front of the TV or surfing the net etc. I know I’m guilty of it and often my excuse is that I just want to chill out but in reality these things become habit forming and ultimately distract us from those who really matter.

Leave a Reply

