Tree and Me

Afula, Flight, Queensland Australia 230Hug a tree

Have you hugged a tree today?

though it may seem silly

it’s quite therapeutic

It gets you over a fear of seeming silly

Quite true

It can ignite a conversation

or it can lead people to thinking you quite loony

But have you hugged a tree today?

 

Afula, Flight, Queensland Australia 231

Growing up

Small I may seem

But big I will be

Don’t let my size fool you

I’ll be big before you know it

Don’t look down on me

Because I’m not as big as you

One day I’ll be as tall as you

When I grow up

Afula, Flight, Queensland Australia 233

Family

Family that’s what we are

Solid as a tree trunk

With many different branches

Some more nuttier than others

But all still come from the same roots

You are and Family you shall always be

Because the nut never falls far from the tree

And when you’re on the ground you’re closer

To the roots than where you began

Afula, Flight, Queensland Australia 234

Different

I stand out, I don’t fit in

While everyone else is wearing dull colors

I’m wearing all bright

But that’s alright

You are you and I am me

We don’t have to be the same

There’s always got to be someone different in the crowd

 

This is dedicated to some dear friends of ours who introduced us to tree hugging. Sorry but we’re missing one, as my brother didn’t want to pose for a “hug a tree” photo.

Leave a Reply

